Y is for Yellowstone National Park

I’ve only been to Yellowstone National Park once, but I loved it.  I didn’t get to see the entire park, so I really want to go back.

Yellowstone sits is the states of Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho.  Located on a caldera, the park is full of beautiful hot springs and geysers, with Old Faithful being the most famous of the geysers.

Castle Geyser

I don’t think I had ever seen a hot spring before this trip and I know I had never seen a geyser,  so to see so many in one location, and how vastly different they look, was amazing.

Some of the hot spring were so blue and clear and very inviting, while other features, like Bacteria Mat were not so pretty.  It was really something special to see how active the earth is and how potentially dangerous, too.

One of the many clear blue hot spings in the geyser basins

I know there is a lot more of Yellowstone that I didn’t have time to see during my first trip.  I hope sometime soon to get back there and see it all. I’ve been dropping hints that it would make a great graduation gift!

Bacteria Mat

Old Faithful

3 responses to “Y is for Yellowstone National Park

  1. Yellowstone is on my “bucket list” = definitely a must-do. Thanks for sharing! You are right, Bacteria Mat does not look very pleasant…yuck!

  2. I never get tired of pictures from Yellowstone – you have great ones! I love the bacteria mat. I framed one of my pictures of Mammoth Falls where they had a lot of that kind of thing – it looks like it’s from another planet. I get the impression from a lot of our posts and comments that many of us love Yellowstone…future fieldtrip?!

Leave a comment