Z is for Zero

Finally, I’m at Z (better late than never, considering it is May and this blog is part of the A-Z Blog Challenge)!  Since I don’t know about any interesting people (okay, I do, but they might not appreciate appearing in my blog), places or things that begin with the letter Z, I thought I’d finish finish the alphabet with some randomness about zero.

Zero is a number = 0.  It precedes the number 1.  It is neither positive nor negative.  It can be used as a place holder in other numbers and weights.  Without zero, 101, would 11.

The Zero was a plane used by the Japanese in World War II.

The word zero is  in several song titles:

  • Saved by Zero, The Fixx
  • Less Than Zero, Elvis Costello
  • Zero, Smashing Pumpkins
  • Love Minus Zero /No Limit,  Bob Dylan

Zero hour refers to midnight (00:00)

Coke Zero is a new low-calorie soda put out by Coca~Cola.  The target audience for the drink is men.  Men apparently associate diet drinks with women, so this new campaign doesn’t use the word diet.  I personally think Coke Zero is better tasting than Diet Coke.

Z~end 🙂

2 responses to “Z is for Zero

  1. Good job Beth for finally getting to Z! Speaking of the song Less than Zero, have you ever seen the movie Less than Zero? It was based on the book (same title) written by Bret Easton Ellis, who also wrote American Psycho. They really aren’t that great of books but it just reminded me of them when you mentioned the song title. I guess I just can’t get into stories that are about rich, young, yuppies.

    • Thanks! This challenge was harder than I thought it would be, especially with other stuff to do besides blogging. But I’m not sure how much blogging I would have done otherwise.
      I’ve seen both of those movies. American Psycho really creeped me out!

Leave a Reply

